h1

Bar Wars? Not On This Block!

June 3, 2013

bridge_blog

So my buddy Trevor called me, told me he was moving his bar The Bridge a block away from mine. Well, not HIS bar – his and his biz partner Rita’s bar. I’ll tell you what I think about those two in a minute. First, let’s talk about competition.

I have a fair amount of relationships with bars of all stripes, and the ones who are the most respected do the following:

1.) Work their asses off to make their places successful.

2.) They do it not at the expense of their friends in the same business, but as a hand-in-hand “let’s go get ’em” attitude with their competition.

Yeah, they are driven and competitive and want to win and go to sleep at night thinking about how to win. But at the end of the day, you hear your buddy’s bar had a sh*tty weekend, you feel bad. You hear they had a good weekend, you’re happy for them – and if that good weekend was at the expense of your bar having a sh*tty one, you don’t wish THEY had a crapfest, you just wish you both were balling it.

So, here’s a special Feedblog re-enactment:

(phone rings) Me: “Um, hello?”

Trevor: “Hey, it’s Trev.”

He says this because of how I answered the phone. I answered the phone that way ’cuz I suck at saving contacts and didn’t know who it was despite having very recent phone and text conversations, as well as Facebooking him to confirm his number four months ago. I’m kind of an a-hole about stuff like that.

Me: “Yeah! Totally! Hey, I’m gonna bring you an extra chalkboard thingy I have and a bunch of other stuff that has nothing to do with the reason for the call and is pretty boring for the Feedblog readers, but I’ll just keep going until you stop me.” (paraphrasing)

Trevor: “Great, but’s that’s not why I called. We’re moving to the old Chuck and Sally’s location because of some stuff about development that you’ll forget about when you try to recreate this conversation in a blog post.”

Me: “That is very cool. There is nobody I’d rather have in our neighborhood than you guys. It’s going to be good for the neighborhood, good for bar/restaurant foot traffic, good for both of us in a lot of ways. I’m really happy for you guys.”

Trevor: “Uh, you okay?”

(I’m usually not super positive about stuff. Norwegian nature.)

Me: “Yep. Really happy for you guys, good for all of us.”

And then we insulted each other for awhile. And I meant it. The “happy about it” stuff, not the insults.

Anyhoosle, to clarify my position – as well as that of the other two weirdos that own this place – Trevor and Rita are great people, and we’re looking forward to having them in the neighborhood. Really.

– Matt Johnson / Feedback Lounge
Morgan Junction, West Seattle

3 comments

  1. This is why I’ve lived in West Seattle since I moved here 14 years ago. Cheers to all of you.


  2. Reblogged this on Cloud City Chronicles.



Leave a Reply

